If you have any imagery of this location and would like to
provide us with copies, please use our Contact form.
The Stannary Hills Monument:
Stannary Hills, west of Herberton
This monument marks the centre of the former town of
Following the discovery of minerals nearby in 1883, mining development commenced despite
the isolation. With construction of a tramway to Rocky Bluffs from Boonmoo on the Chillagoe railway in 1902. Stannery Hills became a small but important centre of industry and commerce for a short period to the Great War.
Various factors contributed to the diminishing importance of mining, and with no other industry to support the town, the population drifted away. The school closed in 1931, the tramline was demolished in 1941 and the town had ceased to exist by the mid 1950's.
This monument commemorates the centenary of the opening of the mining tramway,and the vision and enterprise of all associated with it. We celebrate the life and times of Stannary Hills and its citizens, and the enduring role played by this and nearby mining communities in the fabric of Nth Qld history.
This plaque was kindly donated by:-
REEF 'n' HINTERLAND
Seniors Travel Club